top of page


The mission of the South Carolina Food Policy Council is to build an equitable, accessible, and economically diverse, local food system in South Carolina by promoting multi-sectoral collaboration, community-based programming, and policy change.

Vegetable Basket


Beginning in March 2005, volunteers formed a steering committee to begin the discussion and exploration of creating a statewide food policy council that would work towards the improvement and expansion of healthier and more informed food choices by South Carolinians. As a result of the steering committee findings, on March 17, 2006, the SC Food Policy Council (SCFPC) held its first general membership meeting and continued to meet throughout the year.

SCFPC serves as a forum for members to share their concerns as well as their progress on related programs and initiatives that are related to the food system in South Carolina. The networking opportunities and the information shared at these meetings have greatly benefited many of the members of the Council as they work towards the goals of continued growth, promotion and protection of a healthy agricultural industry, a safe and plentiful food supply, and a vibrant food system in South Carolina.

Board Members

Weatherly Thomas, Chair

Clemson Cooperative Extension

Jesse Blom, Vice Chair

The Green Heart Project

Miko Pickett, Non-Voting Member

Pick 42 Foundation

Dr. Florence Anoruo

SC State University

Michael Brown

Roots of Life Cafe, Farms, and Gardens

Bonita Clemons

Bonita Global and Diane's Call

Paola Gutierrez

South Carolina Office of Rural Health

Ken Harvin

South Carolina Association for Community Economic Development


Jim Johnson, Non-voting Member

South Carolina State Small Business Development Center

Matt Kneece

Carolina Farm Stewardship Association

Alison Pierce, Non-voting Member

South Carolina Food Hub Network

Kyle Player

Agribusiness Center for Research and Entrepreneurship, South Carolina Department of Agriculture

Dr. Carolyn A. Prince

Earth Seed Farm, LLC and Our Children-Their Future, Inc.

Ivan Segura

South Carolina Commission for Minority Affairs

Technical Assistance Providers

Nikki Seibert Kelley, Wit Meets Grit, Growing Local SC

bottom of page